At the beginning of your yoga practice you most likely concentrate on your physical exercise. You might realize that you body changes at first. But you might also realize that you are more aware of reaction, emotions etc. That is the result of the awakening of certain energy points in your body, known as chakras. To understand the features of the chakras, the main ones are described in more detail:

koshas in Cape Town Gardens southern suburbs rondebosch rosebank constantia meadowridge postures poses asana breath pranayama pregnancy yoga chakras meditation relaxation om symbolSahasrara Chakra: Crown

Integrates all energy centres of the body

Function: Spiritual and self-awareness

Asana: inverted-head asanas like Shirsasana (headstand), Matsyasana (fish pose)

Ajna Chakra: Brow

Referred to as third eye and fosters intuition and knowledge

Function: Seeing and intuiting

Asana: Seated yoga mudras

Vishuddha Chakra: Throat

Fosters communication, independence, fluent thoughts and sense of security

Function: Communication and self-expression

Asana: Sarvangasana (shoulder stand), Matsyasana (fish pose), Supta Vajrasana (Reclined Thunderbolt Pose)

Anahata Chakra: Heart

Fosters feelings and devotion

Function: Love

Asana: back-bending asanas like Dhanurasana (bow pose), Ushtrasana (camel pose)

Manipura Chakra: Solar Plexus

Fosters digestion, personal power and all matters of growth

Function: Willpower

Asana: back-bending asanas like Urdhva Dhanurasana (wheel pose)

Svadhisthana Chakra: Sacral

Fosters reproduction, creativity and joy

Function: Procreation

Asana: Bhujangasana (cobra), Salabasana (locust pose)

Muladhara Chakra: Base of Root

Fosters sexuality, stability and sensuality

Asana: seated asanas lifted away from gravity, e.g. Tittibasana (firefly), Bakasana (crow pose)